Anonymously Yours | Presidents' Day Stars and Stripes

Our anonymous decorators were out again this past week, making sure the Cow and The Coyote statue on Central Way was well-dressed for Presidents' Day. The tradition continues as each holiday the statue gets a new costume.

Quirky? Yes. Does it show pride in our community? Absolutely. We say, well done!

The Cow and The Coyote is Kirkland’s version, albeit smaller and less well-known, of the Fremont Waiting for the Interurban.

Happy Presidents' Day from your friends at Kirkland Views!

Did you know?

Q: Did you know that George Washington was not the first President of the United States?

A: There were actually SEVEN presidents before George Washington. They are known to history as the "Presidents under the Articles of Confederation" and had the official title of "President of the United States in Congress Assembled." The first was John Hanson (1781-82), and the next six presidents were Elias Boudinot (1783), Thomas Mifflin (1784), Richard Henry Lee (1785), Nathan Gorman (1786), Arthur St. Clair (1787), and Cyrus Griffin (1788). There were actually sixteen Presidents of the Continental Congress, but John Hanson, the ninth, was the first to serve as President under the Articles of Confederation and the first to hold the title "President of the United States." To read more about these men, see the Marshall Hall Foundation's page on John Hanson(, EDSITEment's "Lost Hero: Was John Hanson Actually the First President?" Lesson Plan (, and Infoplease's Presidents of the Continental Congresses(